Byron Sher Award

Outstanding Achievement in Environmental Protection

Every year, Sierra Club California presents two California Public Officials with the Byron Sher Award for outstanding achievement in environmental protection.
Former Senator Sher was one of the leading champions of progressive environmental policies in the California legislature, serving from 1980 to 2004. He promoted environmental protections and passed forward-looking legislation that helped make the state a leader in environmental policy. He did this with dignity, intelligence, persistence and humor.
The 2014 Byron Sher Awards were given to Senator Holly J. Mitchell and Senator Mark Leno for championing the effort to impose a reasonable, health-protective moratorium on fracking and well stimulation.
Senator Holly J. Mitchell with Sierra Club California Director Kathryn Phillips and Senator Mark Leno with Sierra Club California Advocate Annie Pham.
See Previous Years: